What's new

New to FPs. Looking for some help.

Hey guys, like I said I'm very new to fountain pens. I've been sneaking looks in the nib every now and again. I have to admit that I'm very curious. So let's get down to business. I want a nice daily writer that's dependable. I'm looking at $100 (minus shipping) at the most and before you say it, I don't want a Parker 51. I understand that they are really nice and all but, I just don't like the cover over the nib. I know, I know, I'm sure I just sinned by saying that but, I just can't get over it no matter how awesome it performs. I'm sure I just offended a god or two by saying that. I have been looking at the Platinum #3776 Century and I was wondering how you guys feel about it. If not the Platinum then what would you recommend, maybe a vintage?

Thanks for your time,
Richard

Last edited:
Welcome. While you mentioned looking at a $100 pen the Platinum is o.k. They are the parent company of the reknown Nakaya Pen company. Pens I would look at are the Pilot Vanishing Point. You can find one for $150-$175. Very good writers. I know a lot of people suggest pens in the $50 or less range but I like pens in the $125-$200 range. Better nibs and better pens in general. Sailor 1911 Standard are very nice pens and smooth writers. If you are near a large city you might want to search for a store such as Paradise Pen that might have a selection you can look at.

Welcome. While you mentioned looking at a $100 pen the Platinum is o.k. They are the parent company of the reknown Nakaya Pen company. Pens I would look at are the Pilot Vanishing Point. You can find one for $150-$175. Very good writers. I know a lot of people suggest pens in the $50 or less range but I like pens in the $125-$200 range. Better nibs and better pens in general. Sailor 1911 Standard are very nice pens and smooth writers. If you are near a large city you might want to search for a store such as Paradise Pen that might have a selection you can look at.