What's new

My first 8 months - and a safer path for new DE shavers

JCinPA

The Lather Maestro
Well, 8 months into this and I have had exactly 4 nicks and rarely get weepers, they are about as rare. I shave every day (since April 13th, when I started, I have taken exactly 3 days off shaving), get a DFS 90% of the time and a BBS whenever I want one. I had been lathering with brush and mug for over 15 years using my Gillette carts with a multi-pass shave, however, so I had an advantage. but I think an experience close to this is possible for most folks if they approach this in a methodical fashion and lock down their learning environment. So I'm going to give advice here, and of course this is not THE WAY, but it is a way, with a higher probability of success, I believe, than many other ways.

Getting off to a good start, if you follow my advice, involves locking down your environment to as few variables as possible. Unfortunately, because we are all such gregarious and helpful people around here, the environment here often encourages new shavers to start with 6 razors, a huge blade sampler and a half dozen lather products (or more). That is great after you have a couple months under your belt, but it is a recipe for disaster for a learning environment. Hence, my advice:

• Watch all the Mantic59 and Geofatboy videos on Youtube showing them shave and keep re-watching them
  • Buy ONE razor at the start and refrain from buying another one for at least 45 days
  • Buy a decent (not top shelf) BADGER brush
  • Buy TWO lather products, one soap and one cream
  • Shave with your current razor for two weeks, learning light, multiple passes
  • Buy maybe a couple blades, NOT a huge sampler and use them for the first 45 days
  • Shave immediately after a morning shower as your prep-try other preps after your 45 days
  • Do not use the hottest water you can stand nor ice water -- use warm comfortable water