What's new

Looking to Upgrade

I've been using a Pure brush for several years and just started wet shaving a few months back... I'm hoping I can upgrade my brush on the cheap. I believe these are the details you need:

1. Current Brush: It’s a Vulfix Pure Old Original. I believe it’s 1000A; it was a gift so I don't exactly recall, but I know it cost like $25 about 5 years ago.

2. Lathering: Face-lathering with Van Der Hagen Deluxe Soap. I do the upside-down soap grabbing technique for about 20 seconds and then proceed to build the lather on my cheeks since there is ample surface to work it. Then I brush my chin and upper lip.

3. Why I want a change: My Vulfix Pure is scratchy and I wish it built a quicker lather.
• I can’t re-lather with it for my second pass because the pokey/scratchy irritates my face after a first pass. I also believe it promotes ingrown hairs which I’m prone to (not sure how or why, but there is a correlation).

4. What I’m looking for in a brush:
• Need softer hair tips, but not looking to spend a fortune. Best grade?
• More Bristle Density: more hairs to build a quicker lather
• Stiff enough for face lathering
• Medium Size. Definitely not interested in a small brush
• I like the handle size and shape of my Old Original, which is not small and has a flared bottom

5. Aesthetics: Composite/Mold Injection is fine.

6. Budget: option 1) $40 - $50 or option 2)$70 - $80. With option 2) I'll just wait until I get an extra paycheck.

7. Brushes considering (pretty much cost driven):
• Edwin Jagger - Best Badger - Light Horn Handle
http://www.amazon.com/badger-edwin-...TF8&coliid=I2UJIJSY76YH4Q&colid=1VO4Q7SCQPXGG
• Parker Best Badger Bristle – White & Chrome Handle
http://www.amazon.com/Bristle-Shavi...TF8&coliid=I3QHPZUL15EMRD&colid=1VO4Q7SCQPXGG