What's new

Linux Users-NTFS or EXT4 For Second Drive?

Gents, for those of you who use Linux regularly, what are your thoughts about secondary storage drive formats? The easy answer is EXT4 and done. However, what if it becomes convenient or necessary to connect it to a Windows machine?

One thing I really like about using Linux is that it reads my old Windows NTFS drives with no trouble. This was quite convenient for moving old multimedia files from the XP boot drive to the Linux Mint boot drive. I understand I could quite easily move the individual folders with different file types a few Gbs at a time on a USB drive so it is not hyper critical.

Also, the drive is a 500Gb size so should I make more than one partition? I am new to Gparted but it seems fairly straightforward. Thank you for any help.

oc_in_fw

Fridays are Fishtastic!
EXT4- NTFS is a a file system developed by Microsoft. I wouldn't trust it further that I can throw a hippo.

It's been a long time since I dabbled in Linux and looked at the different file formats, but iirc NTFS is a fairly robust file system. I personally haven't had problems with my windows machines in regards to NTFS. If you need to regularly access the data on the second drive then I would go ahead and format in NTFS.

Unless you need fairly regular access to the drive from windows ( dual boot is the only situation I can think of, but there's likely more), I would go with ext4. If you need access from a different computer, running Windows, setup Samba (or CIFS, as they now call it) shares.

NTFS is the best option for windows and okay on linux. A technically poor analogy , but one that I think helps nonetheless is, running NTFS on linux is like running FAT32 on windows.