What's new

Junk shop razors

I've been figuring out how to upload pictures and stuff, and doing some reviews of the "7 day set" I put together entirely from antique razors (At 7 I mist stop due to spatial considerations!).

I'd like to offer encouragement to those put off the idea of straight razor shaving by the price of a good razor- this cllection cost me in total under £50 I've been piecing it together for a few years now, and most of the razors cost only a fiver, and a bit of work with a hone. Most in fact were near shave ready out of the case, jsut a "tickle" on the 10K waterstone and they worked fine. I think junk shop finds are a really good way to put together the equipment needed to shave like a gentleman on a minimal budget.

With a £5 razor, a decent leather belt, and an old hone, you can get going. Better still, make the strop, or ask at a show repair shop- you can put one together that is perfectly functional, and probably have leather left over to make yourself a nice slip case for your razor, it it did not come with one.

"Pure Bristle" brushes cost under a fiver, and a stick of Palmolive may set you back 70p (and last for months). You may want to be really extravagant and purchase a bottle of Old Spice (£5) or you could just get a bottle of Witch Hazel BP (£1.20).

I honestly believe that honing is a skill that anyone can learn, look at the Razor Central website (www.en.nassrasur.com/razorcentral/) for as plenty of information. If you decide to splash out on two razors, you can pay someone to hone one of them for you, if you want a benchmark for your own efforts, but the tests (thumbnail, hanging hair) are fairly good, and easy to use.