What's new

Ingrown hairs have invaded my neck

For the first time since I started shaving 25 years ago... I have ingrown hairs.

They arrived in June and I wasn’t really sure what they were. Started as one, then 2 and have since multiplied to about 12-13. They’re not red or irritated, but they look like tiny, waxy pimples. I’ve tried bump stopper, and at the recommendation of a pharmacist, polysporin with bacitracin. Nothing worked.

I visited my family Dr. today and have been given hydrocortisone cream (1%) and benzo hydroxide cream (5%) - all over the counter purchases. Here’s hoping this works.

I’ve been using the same open comb and blades for the last 2-3 years and switch periodically to my feather kamisori. Synthetic brush, Haslingers schafmilch, MWF or Proraso green. Finish up with an alcohol based splash. I’m not entirely sure what’s causing them, but it’s certainly annoying.

I wear some heavy gear at work and the heat & sweat are possibly the culprits. Might be worth getting some gold bond for my neck in hotter days. Anyone else have any issues out of nowhere ?

Brad.

Isn't that benzo thing for acne?

I heard a boar brush might help prevent in grown hairs or lift it up.

Or you can try squeezing it out with a tweezer.

Benzo for acne. You are correct. I thought the same thing when the doc suggested it, but he went to school way longer than I did. If this doesn’t pan out, I’ll be seeing a dermatologist.

Boar hair may be an option. I have a mixed badger / boar hair brush that hasn’t seen a lot of use lately. The synthetic has just done wonders with making lather.

Two things cause ingrown/irritated hairs on my neck - sweating too much (especially when wearing a tie) and overly aggressive shaving.