What's new

I have a FEW Gillette NEW questions

Over time I've been lucky enough to obtain the following Gillette NEWs (from right to left in the pic below): a Made in USA Common Bar handle NEW, a 2-piece RFB Made in England NEW, a 3-piece RFB Made in England NEW and a FB Made in England NEW w/ the French Import stamp Importé D'Angleterre. All are very fine shavers and I've enjoyed using all of them, yet one of them really stands out from the others and I'm wondering why.

First I should say I've been using my Gillette Tech/NEW Hybrid exclusively for the last 7 years and got the 3 British NEWs to compare to the Hybrid as they have very similar baseplates. You know, just one of those goofy thoughts that finally comes to light. Anyway, the British FB NEW with the French Import stamp Importé D'Angleterre shaves much more like my Tech/NEW Hybrid than like a NEW and I can't for the life of me figure out why?

Is it because most if not all NEWs were really designed with a thicker razor blade? Does it have to do with manufacturing dates, with later models being more mild? (Forgive me I'm just guessing here.) Or maybe because the base plate + cap of the NEW with the French Import stamp more closely resembles a Tech? Has anyone compiled measurements of blade gap/exposure etc of various Gillette razors?

Any help would be appreciated - thanks.

:sailor:

IMG_1922.jpg