What's new

How do I lather a shaving soap?!

I've tried finding a few threads on this topic but couldn't seem to find any that really commented on how to lather a soap. As a newbie, I'm experimenting quite a bit, so that might be my first problem as I've not really focused on one soap or cream. However, for the 2 or 3 soap pucks I have tried, I just cannot get a LOT of lather...and one, not even much of a later at all.

The one puck I do get a decent (but not great) lather from is RazorRock What The Puck in orange. So, I'm going to keep trying and experimenting on that one. However, does anyone have any experience in lathering a puck and that they would like to share?

I've tried soaking the puck in warm water for 5 minutes or so, and that seems to get the soap soft, but not sure that's the right technique.

Any technique suggestions for a newbie will be appreciated! I'll also continue to scour YouTube for videos, but most seem to be just building a lather and not talking about how to actually do it with a puck, other than the "work it for 30-45 seconds to load the brush" comment. That might be it...but as I've read in many related posts, people have trouble lathering a soap puck at times...so what have people done to improve their lather creation?

Thanks in advance.

Richard

Lots of people swear by "the Marco Method". Maybe someone can post a link for you.

Here are my tips:
  1. Soak the brush, not the puck - put the brush in a mug of warm water for 5+ minutes
  2. If your brush is boar, it will be a "lather-killer" for a while until it's broken in
  3. >>> There are tons of threads about breaking in a boar brush
  4. "Bloom" the puck by putting a tablespoon of water on it for 5+ minutes
  5. Some people pour off this bloom water before loading - I don't
  6. Either way, swirl your brush on top of the puck for 20 to 60 seconds to load
  7. >>> Longer for harder soaps, shorter for softer soaps and croaps (cream/soap)