What's new

Hey all!

Hey everyone, clearly I’m a newbie. I signed up because I’m anxiously awaiting my first straight edge in the mail tomorrow (a 5/8ths Boker Paua with a French Point). I have a slight issue though. Since I’m buying it straight from Boker’s website, I don’t believe it is shave ready and Reddit advised I get it professionally honed first before trying to learn how to do it myself. After some intense research within a short amount of time, I’ve come across a gentleman named Bayamontate that may live not too far from me. I found that he is very well known within this community, but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to PM him or anyone else including mods. Any advice?

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
Hey everyone, clearly I’m a newbie. I signed up because I’m anxiously awaiting my first straight edge in the mail tomorrow (a 5/8ths Boker Paua with a French Point). I have a slight issue though. Since I’m buying it straight from Boker’s website, I don’t believe it is shave ready and Reddit advised I get it professionally honed first before trying to learn how to do it myself. After some intense research within a short amount of time, I’ve come across a gentleman named Bayamontate that may live not too far from me. I found that he is very well known within this community, but I can’t for the life of me figure out how to PM him or anyone else including mods. Any advice?
At the bottom of the page, you’ll see “Terms of Use”. Rule #5 says you’ll be able to PM people after 10 legitimate posts. You can look at the Threads under the Straight Razor forum since we know that holds interests for you: join in the discussions and you’ll have 10 posts in just a few minutes.

:001_tongu Boy do I feel sheepish, etiquette said to familiarize myself with the ToS/Terms of Use too. I never knew people actually read those! 🤯

Anyway, thanks for pointing me in the right direction and not scolding me like a college professor. I may like this place better than Reddit.