What's new

hey all!

i've been lurking for a while, this is a great board, thank you all for the great information (until i got here, i had no clue what "knot size" meant ... i was like, dang, the Boy Scout manual doesn't say anything about that...)

at any rate, i am a newbie wetshaver. started about four months ago with a Prorasso tub of shaving soap and an Omega boar brush i picked up at Target on a whim.

liked it, so i decided to check out the internet about more wetshaving info and ended up ditching my Mach 3 for a Merkur HD with Merkur Platinum blades. that was quickly followed by me ditching the boar brush and getting a Vulpix Super Badger (375)

my wife got me a silver-plated Knickerbocker shaving mug at an antique store, so i figured i'd shave with an antique razor too, so i got a 1917 Gillette on E-bay, and boy, was than an adjustment. i almost gave up after the first few days, but then i "got the hang of it" and now I can shave easily without nicks or cuts of any sort, except very rarely for a minor knick (I am still mastering my technique)

i still use Prorasso soap, though I tried a few others (D.R. Harris and Taylor of Old Bond Street). i just like the way my skin feels with the Prorasso during and after the shave.

i would appreciate any feedback or suggestions on my procedure or equipment. here is a summary

1. Neutrogena extra gentle face cleanser
2. Taylor of Old Bond Street pre-shave herbal balm
3. Prorasso shaving soap
4. with Vulfix Super Badger brush
5. shave with 1917 Gillette
6. using Merkur Super Platinum blades
7. Neutrogena Razor Guard after-shave

ok, well, thanks for a great board, looking forward to any comments or suggestions

Welcome. Sounds as though you're off to a good start. So far as equipment and supplies, what you have is good, and you can explore from there. My blog has some of the things I like, and in the forum you'll find plenty of discussion of the various choices.

Welcome to the B&B Andy.