What's new

HELP! Blunt straight after 1 shave

Hi,

I'm a newbie here. I have been shaving with DE razors for a while and recently decided it was time to take a step up and buy a straight.

First shave was fantastic! I went to have my second shave today and the blade seemed to be blunt. Wouldn't cut the hair at all. I had to revert to me DE. I bought the razor (Dovo) from a reputable dealer and it was dispatched honed and "shave ready"

I dont understand how it could have gone blunt after only 1 shave.

Help please

More than likely, your stropping technique is the culprit here. If you aren't careful to keep the strop taut and the spine in contact with it, you will roll the edge of your blade and blunt it quite quickly. The edge of a straight razor is extremely sharp, but also extremely fragile.

Sorry mate, but you'll likely need to have that rehoned.

Thanks.

I thought it was probably down to my stopping technique. What advice can you give me for that so i don't balls it up next time?

Also, do you think it would be better to invest in a Hone and do it myself or get it done professionally? I it something easy to do?

Cheers

The most important advice when learning to strop is to go s-l-o-w. In every western movie ever made, the barber is whipping the blade up & down the strop like a madman. That's great for the movies, bad for you. The key is consistency, not speed. Go at a steady pace, ensuring you keep the spine and the edge in contact with the strop at all times during the stroke. Be especially careful when flipping the razor, as this is when it is easiest to gouge up your strop (and ruin your edge in the process).