What's new

Geting started and in need of some help

So i have been shaving with a safety razor brush and soap for maybe 3-4 years now and i am looking to get started with straight razor shaving. The thing is tho i dont know where to start or what to buy. I checked out whipped dog and larry's supplies yesterday and thought that i might just buy the razor strop and honing stone from him? But i need some tips first. What is good stuff for a noob? I need tips on a good razor and honing stone and links to the site where i can buy them. It would help me allot! :001_smile

First things first. What you need as an SR noob is a shave ready razor. This can be procured rather inexpensively either from Whipped Dog, or our own life2short (shave ready Gold Dollars). Next is a razor strop. The usual recommendation is Larry's poor man's strop kit, but other inexpensive options exist. It is generally advised to be rather stingy when buying your first strop since you will most assuredly both cut and nick it. I would stay away from honing in the beginning and when finally ready to start honing, I would suggest you go with lapping film (it is very cheap, don't worry).

Other guys who actually know stuff will be along shortly to help you out.

Edit: Larry's strop kit will include a balsa strop that will allow you to "refresh" your edges. This is actually very useful and will delay the need for rehoning for quite some time.

I would go with the Whipped Dog approach as well. The razor will be shave ready. If you get the strop and the balsa pasted strop that's all you'll need for a while and even when that doesn't work Larry sells a cut down 12k finishing hone for about $15 (as I recall). That's all you'll need.

You'll probably be less frustrated if you buy two "sight unseen" razors from Larry. If you mess one up learning to strop properly or bump the edge into the faucet you'll still be able to shave while you figure out how to deal with honing the first one.