What's new

Fountain Pen as a Gift: Need Recommendations

There are three of us who want to buy a fountain pen as a gift for a friend. A little about him. He is about 45 years old and is an engineer by profession. He has just been given a very big promotion and we want to give him the pen as a gift. This person is not brand conscious but rather (I guess being an engineer) is more influenced by performance. Our price range is a max of $300. He is a rather tall individual with huge hands. However, he is very artistic. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

The new TWSBI 540 sounds like it would be a good fit for said individual. It is a larger pen and the ability to deconstruct it might suit an engineer. It is also a pretty big pen for his big hands. All at 1/6 your max price range.

When you figure it out tell my inlaws! I have been leaving hints that a FP would be a nice graduation gift in December :lol:

Very true, but his description just screamed TWSBI! :)

Rereading the OP, you're right. He might actually quite like a TWSBI! I retract my previous statement.

Jim, maybe you could get him a TWSBI 540 ($50) with a few different nib sets ($20 each) and a few bottles of ink! That'd be quite the gift basket!

Just deleted my first post.

I think an engineer would love a sort of gadget-driven fountain pen. The Pilot/Namiki Vanishing Point and the Lamy Dialog 3 come to mind immediately. Some of the other Lamy pens, the Studio for example, have that sleek and modern look to them. Throw in a Rhodia dot pad, which is useful for everything from writing to drawing, and you've got a fantastic gift.