What's new

First Shave in the Books

So my order landed just before lunch, and while I told myself I'd shave after my jiu jitsu class and shower tonight, I had no willpower and had to take the new stuff for a spin. I tried using a safety razor like one time maybe 20 years ago, so for all intents and purposes, I'm a newb and a half here.

I loaded the Merkur 34C with the free blade it came with, soaked my brush and tried to whip up some lather. I don't think I did a great job at that, but the shave itself - holy moly! It was so smooth on my face I assumed I'd loaded something wrong. Imagine my surprise to find it really did just slice off the whiskers. I did two passes - one WTG and one XTG. I have a beard so that cross-grain is good for keeping the line straight.

My neck was not quite as successful - felt pretty smooth during both passes but did have a little blood and heat afterwards. Post-balm and I'm feeling fine.

All in all, I'm super happy. I can't believe how smooth my face is! I need to work on my technique - especially building that lather - and then I need to figure out which blade from this sample pack to try first!

So my order landed just before lunch, and while I told myself I'd shave after my jiu jitsu class and shower tonight, I had no willpower and had to take the new stuff for a spin. I tried using a safety razor like one time maybe 20 years ago, so for all intents and purposes, I'm a newb and a half here.

I loaded the Merkur 34C with the free blade it came with, soaked my brush and tried to whip up some lather. I don't think I did a great job at that, but the shave itself - holy moly! It was so smooth on my face I assumed I'd loaded something wrong. Imagine my surprise to find it really did just slice off the whiskers. I did two passes - one WTG and one XTG. I have a beard so that cross-grain is good for keeping the line straight.