What's new

DE to Mach 3 to Straights!!!

Long story short I've been wetshaving with a DE for two years now...tried all kinds of razor/blade combos and I just can't get it right. I have a steel beard and a Mach 3 is just so much more quick, closer, and more comfortable. I switched to DE to save money, not because of razor burn or bad shaves. I get a much better shave with a Mach 3 than any DE/Prep/Cream combo I've tried! As far as the time saving goes I'm not too worried about that. If I could get a good shave with a straight I'd love to spend the extra time on it! One question I can't seem to find an answer too. How time consuming/complicated is the honing/sharpening process? I wouldn't mind spending some time on it every day or once a week...however often it requires...but I'm definetly not going to spend and hour a day or something like that. I don't think it takes that long, but I can't find any info about it. Thanks in advance!

I recently started with straights by trying out the Feather RG and Feather DX. You get the straight experience without having to buy hones and strops.

There are a LOT of variables that can take place, so you won't get a specific answer to your question. You could get away with as little as 5 minutes a week just doing a touch-up on a coticule w/water or an hour or more dealing with a blade that has issues (warp, bad grind, chip, etc...). I have several razors, so I can go a while before I need to get out the stone and do any maintenance. I usually wait until I have a few to do and then spend anywhere from 5 - 20 minutes per blade pending condition. Once you find a set-up you like you shouldn't have to spend much time keeping your edge fresh. Just remember some synthetic stones recommend you soak them for a certain amount of time before you use them. Do a little research on the pros & cons on the type of system your interested in (natural or synthetic stones, films etc. etc...).