What's new

Bought my first vintage Gillette's after 2+ years with Futur - Technique difference

So, I'm a bit perplexed. I've been using my Futur for a little over 2 years now. My first DE razor and it had it's learning curve that included a fair amount of blood. Especially one really nice cut on my nose as I was cleaning the area, got really messy.

These days Kai blades at 3 to 3.5 setting gives me BBS in 2-3 passes with no nicks, weepers etc. and I can be fairly aggressive shaving with it. I.e. long strokes fairly fast and mostly XTG. I feel great after applying Proraso lotion afterwards (shave with Proraso cream).

So I used a Slim last week that I got of Ebay together with a 1976 SS. Used the Kai blades as well to keep some variables the same but it does not shave the same as the Futur for me. Nicked myself, fair amount of weepers etc. Basically I had to use more passes to get to BBS and irritated the crap out of my skin.

I was almost sad because I want to get a few more vintage ones, maybe re-plate one in Rhodium and then maybe hand it to my son when he are old enough to shave, as well as just enjoying great shaves with them.

Did another shave on Sunday with the Futur and it felt better than the Slim again

At first I figured I'm just going to stick with the Futur but then figured there has to be something I'm doing wrong so checked out some shaving videos to see what technique others are using.

One in particular where the Razoremporium video of the comparison Futur, Progress and Fat boy stood out.

The difference I noted was he was using shorter strokes and was holding the razor more delicately. With the Futur I pinch it at the indentation but mostly hold it like the cartridge razors I used to use, probably because of the length of the shaft. I also do 2-3 inch long strokes with it, again like with a cartridge. It works well for me with the Futur which is aggressive so why wouldn't it work with the slim?