What's new

Birthday Brush

Good morning. It is time for a new brush. I have been using my every day for 20 + years and it is still in great shape but it’s time for a friend. I cannot believe that I am going to admit that I have never used a badger brush of any kind. I have a mixed Grosvenor.

I probably have owned every brush, except Simpson, maybe intentionally.

But I am deciding to give in and reward myself. I found a new razor, which I’m totally in love with, the Henson that’s a little more aggressive. I actually prefer a lighter razor and I have been getting great shaves.

It is down to the Duke 3 and the Chubby 2. I am a face latherer so I am still studying. I had an SOC boar which my brother used to use when he was alive (I gifted it) as I didn’t like it and I have a Vulfix Grosvenor that I have used for the bulk of my shaves since 2000 if not earlier. I suppose it’s a good problem, but I’m five days into this and and if I am correct, this one will take me another 20+ years till I’m about 80. Thank you for listening. It’s been a long time since I’ve been here.

EclipseRedRing

I smell like a Christmas pudding
Hi, many congratulations on your birthday, I wish you many more. I own both of these brushes and am also a face latherer. Be aware that the Chubby 2 is much larger than the Duke 3, both are great brushes - for me the Duke 3 is the best brush I have ever tried. The Chubby 2 is excellent for occasional use but for my taste it is a bit too big for daily use and takes an age to dry, especially in cooler weather. The Duke 3 is very similar in size to the Chubby 1 but many find the Duke 3 handle more managable. Good luck 👍

20230925_105757~2.jpg

20230925_105807~2.jpg