What's new

Increased Federal Regulation of Pipe Tobacco and some Cigars is upon us

Hirsute

Used to have fun with Commander Yellow Pantyhose
Gents,

We've known that increased federal regulation of tobacco products was coming. Well, it's here.

Today the FDA published the final rule for pipe tobacco and cigars. You can read the regulation through a link on the Federal Register page here:

https://www.federalregister.gov/art...-food-drug-and-cosmetic-act-as-amended-by-the

The posting is 499 page pdf, so it's a lot to wade through. I'm a lawyer and dig this kind of stuff, so I've gone through it quickly and pulled out some highlights (or lowlights if you like):

- FDA regulations that already apply to cigarettes, RYO tobacco, and smokeless tobacco are extended to 6 additional product categories, and "include currently marketed products such as dissolvables notalready regulated by FDA, gels, waterpipe tobacco, ENDS* (including e-cigarettes, e-hookah, ecigars,vape pens, advanced refillable personal vaporizers, and electronic pipes), cigars, and pipetobacco." *ENDS are Electronic Nicotine Delivery Systems

- The rule also deems any future new products not currently marketed to be covered by the regulations, such as nicotine nasal sprays, etc.

- The FDA selected "Option 1" of their proposed rule which DOES NOT exempt premium cigars (Option 2 would have exempted premium cigars).

- manufacturers of tobacco products must submit ingredient lists and report HPHC (harmful and potentially harmful constituents) for each product

- new products must be reviewed by the FDA before they can be marketed.

- after the effective date, no one may manufacture for sale or distribution in the US any product that does not comply with the rule;

- 30 days after the effective date, a manufacturer may not introduce into domestic commerce any product, regardless of the date of manufacture, that does not comply with the rule;