What's new

How many types of blade before you found your favourite?

Newbie here, still working my way through 10 Derbys, keeping everything consistent to learn a decent technique.

How many types of blades did you go through before you found the one you think is best or your favourite?

I tried perhaps a dozen different brands, but regularly used only a few (Polsilvers, Personnas, and Feathers) before finding my beloved Gillette Silver Blues. I have no plans to try any others; there's no need.

A couple dozen, and I have 3 or 4 that I'll always use. Still willing to try others, but don't have the need, at the moment.

The jury is still out, but I think it's going to wind up being 8 or 9. Feather was the eighth blade I tried, and I instantly thought it was my favorite. But then after settling on the ATT Kronos R1 as my daily razor, I tried Astra SP in it since some came with the razor ,and I think I might like those better than Feathers in that razor. I've been using the Astras the past week and a half, and tomorrow I'm going to try a Feather again and see if I can settle this once and for all.

Took me about 10-15 before I found the one for my EJ89 (Personna Reds).

Still trying with my new Wolfman. So far I have tried Derbys, Personna Reds, Astras, GSBs, SuperMax, Feather, Merkur, PolSilver, Nacets, Wilkinson Sword, Gillette Yellows and likely a few others. Still not there!

Part of the fun is the search for the perfect IMO!!

Totally agree with your comments - Ive tried about 15 types and have narrowed my favs down to about 5, having said that as my skills have improved I seem to get good shaves from most blades.

The fun is always in the chase!

A few years ago I had a notion that I didn't like the Yellow Gillettes. This was probably due to using only one razor for 18 months and consequently loosin grip of the technique. After returning to a rotation of a dozen or so vintages I have no problem using any of my six blades in any of my razors.