What's new

CaD 2.0

I'm hesitantly, with all due respect, deciding to post this quick initial impression of the HTGAM CaD 2.0 barbershop soap, for those who are interested. This is the first time that I've been able to try the Synergy barbershop scent, but have tried 3 others (Gondolier, which had a very unfavorable scent to me, The Beach and the Pumpk'n 3.14, which both had favorable scents to me).

This newest version, CaD 2.0, is a different looking soap than the others, and seems to have an updated ingredients label. This is an opaque, white, soft soap; not translucent like the others I had. Looks very much like PPF "Briar" in the same size tin, if you've tried that.

This CaD 2.0 has a very nice scent to it; as a matter of fact, I really like it. I'm not an expert in "barbershop" scent descriptions, nor have I tried many. But I have noticed that there are different "types" of barbershop scents, if that makes sense. The only way I can describe it is to compare it to the ones I have tried. The scent of CaD 2.0 is not like Mikes, Shannon's Soap, B&M nor the new Maggard Razors barbershop soaps. It is like, however, RR Fine American Blend, only stronger, which I like.

Performance is very good. Easy to lather (very soft water down south, however), good protection, and nice and slick. My setup for this shave was my Savile Row 3122 and my 1951 Aristocrat w/Persona Med Prep blade. Finished off with Fine, American Blend aftershave. A very nice and enjoyable shave. So my initial impression is "Favorable".

$Cad2.0.jpg
$174.jpg

I used it today. It really is a wonderful soap. It feels very slick, but when I am shaving with it I occasionally feel a little less slickness than I want, but perhaps I just need to use more water. Great shave this morning with it. It is an instant classic.