What's new

Blended Scotch Whisky

Oh yeah, this ones on the list! Might have to get a bottle this next payday.....

proxy.php

Pronounced "Che" (like the Cuban commie) "Vek" (rhymes with "cheque")

+ 1 on Te Bheag
just bought a second bottle straight after finishing the first - something I've never done before as I like to try different whiskys. This is better than a lot of single malts.

I was at a small local meat market that had some wines and spirits and they had Monkey Shoulder for $26.99. I'll be trying it tonight

I was at a small local meat market that had some wines and spirits and they had Monkey Shoulder for $26.99. I'll be trying it tonight
Really opens up with a couple drops of water. So far I like it, and at this price I'll probably keep a bottle stocked all the time.

Really opens up with a couple drops of water. So far I like it, and at this price I'll probably keep a bottle stocked all the time.

The description sound delicious. It's available near me for <$30.
Is Monkey Shoulder a smokey-peaty scotch?

This thread has made me want to go expand my liquor cabinet a bit. I've been searching high and low for Monkey Shoulder and Highland Cream and can't locate them.

Almost as bottom shelf as they come, I enjoy Inver House very much. It was my go-to every day drink in Florida, now in Missouri I can't find it. So I've been trying some of the other cheaper blends. I like Chivas but I prefer to spend less than that.

Impressions from my newest bottles: Dewars is great, Cutty Sark is OK, and Johnny Walker Red is awful (gave me a headache immediately and felt like I had a hangover the next day from 1 drink).

I've got a list of some others to try now.

Dewars 12 yr is a nice alternative to Chivas and JW Black. It's got more depth and character than "regular" Dewars (which I like OK) but still goes down easy and smooth.