What's new

Suit recommendations - help needed

Greetings. I tried searching but wasn't getting what I was looking for...

I recently received a promotion at work, and in talking with my in-office mentor, he suggested I upgrade my attire. We have a "business casual" office - most everyone where's khaki's and polo shirts. Up to this point, most of my wardrobe has been from the mall and Kohl's sales. However, as I am now a supervisor, and will be meeting with our office management daily and some of our corporate officers from time to time, I would like to start wearing suits... or at least nice slackers with shirt/tie.

My promotion did not come with a lotto payout, so I don't have the money for $500 suits, but I also don't want a $75 Sears special... I've had them before, and they were fine for a couple hours at a wedding or something, but not comfortable enough for all day, every day. They also need to be fairly "rugged"... I am an architect, so while it is an office job, I am constantly moving, drawing at a drafting table, tossing large rolls of paper on the desk, etc. In general, it feels like I do calisthenics all day! So it can't be restrictive.

Where do I begin??

A good option might be Brooks Brothers, especially if you can get to an outlet mall around a sale. I picked up a really good suit (including extra pants) for about $350 last year. I never take much notice of the retail prices, but it was allegedly about $700. I got mine at the one in Vegas, and I reckon I looked at about 30 suits from all of the usual suspects. (I was prepared to go up to about $600).

It wears well, I travel a lot for business, and it takes the whole off and on planes thing well, without getting creased and looking like it's been slept in.

Doc4

Stumpy in cold weather
Staff member
You will get lots of suggestions here, but ...