What's new

Best book you've ever read

That would be "The Call of the Wild" by Jack London.

It was the first serious book I read back in high school.

Opened my mind to the bigger world around me.

Great thread, guys :thumbup1:

I'm a college student, so I read too much and too little at the same time... I'm always reading something, but usually not what I want to be reading!

A few of my favorites:

Catch-22 by Joseph Heller. Hilarious and heartbreaking satire of human stupidity and cruelty set during WWII.

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace. Highly recommended to anyone that enjoys big, sweeping novels. In large part a meditation on entertainment and addiction, but it's funny and poignant and beautiful.

The Short Stories by Ernest Hemingway. If you haven't read "Big Two-Hearted River" or "Snows of Kilamanjaro" you owe it to yourself to read them. Positively incredible.

Dune by Frank Herbert

Ender's Game by Orson Scott Card

Stranger in a Strange Land by Robert Heinlein (Starship Troopers and The Moon is a Harsh Mistress get honorable mentions here).

Cryptonomicon by Neal Stephenson (Anathem is a close second)

Gravity's Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon

And so many others...

If you're into hunting and fishing, The Old Man and the Boy by Robert Ruark is a wonderful read.

I also like anything by Bill Bryson. He has a great sense of humor.

Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch is one of the best books I read last year. I gave it to several people as Christmas gifts.

The Wordy Shipmates by Sarah Vowell is excellent. She manages to turn a potentially prosaic topic (A history of Puritans in the US and how they shaped America) into an insightful and entertaining (often hilarious) read. I couldn't put it down, and I'm easily bored with books that don't grab me. I won't fight through a mediocre read. It's for entertainment and relaxation, after all.

-Andy

Last edited: