What's new

What's so special about Gillette Flat Bottom Tech?

Goatrope

Eccentric and destitute of reason
I bought a Gillette Flat Bottom Tech awhile back because I was reading so much that it was the 'holy grail' of Tech's and honestly couldn't tell much difference in shaving performance compared with my regular Tech so I ended up selling it. Maybe I didn't give it enough of a chance.

I'm not a shaving expert like many here on B&B so maybe FBT really is better, but for me personally, I couldn't justify the extra cost of owning something that didn't shave me any better than my other razors. I'm not a collector, just a shaver, although I do have a weakness for vintage Gillettes.

What am I missing?

Last edited:
Hi,

As part of my RAD days here on B&B I picked up a Raised Flat Bottom Tech and really could not tell any difference compared to my original Pre War Tech (which is the razor I began shaving with in 1976).

I think this is one of those YMMV things. ;)

Stan

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
I remember reading @BradWorld 's comments about the various Techs. In his view, they are all very close, with only small differences in how they shave.

I only have two Techs... The aforementioned FBT and a Canada Pre-War Tech.... I only have a few Vintage razors so they'll stick around.

I'm in the same boat as you. There's nothing special or better about it compared to a pre or post-war Tech. Certainty not a holy grail. I think some of the hype in North America comes from it being relatively hard to find on this side of the pond. But they're a dime a dozen in the UK and you can find NOS versions easily for not much money.

lasta

Blade Biter