What's new

Home Brew?

Any of you gents make home brew or home made wine?? I would like to try my hand at brewing my own beer but don't know where to start.......

Advice??

I do. Go get Charlie Papazian's book on how to do it. It is really very easy.

Is there a homebrew store by you? If so, go in and ask questions. The owners love to share what they know.

If there is a homebrew store close there is most likely a homebrew club too. Go to their meetings (a meeting where you drink beer?) and ask questions. Everyone will be happy to share their knowledge and some of their wares.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I have an idea on how to do both. I've been doing beer/wine for the past 10 years. I did a little bit of each method (wine from the grape and concentrate, beer from scratch and concertrate). My advice would be, depending on your preference, whichever solution you pick doesn't matter. As long as you do something you like to drink.

What you need to consider is time, always, it takes time. I do not tink that having a malt and fermenting it for a week, then bottle it, wait a week and then drink it will be good. However, I am becoming difficult with what I drink.

You have a good chance here to make preservative free stuff, which is very good for you.

My recommendation is to find, like said, a homebrew/winemaking store that will sell the proper equipment. They always have some kind of "Starter kit" that will include all the tools required for a first brew. You will then need to buy either wheat/hops or go with a concentrate. My advice is to start with a malt because it's easier. You can go with wheat and hops but this takes a while and if you are doing that by yourself without any instructions, it can be tricky.