What's new

How to get my straights as sharp as a Feather AC?

Hi all,

Last night my Feather AC arrived so I loaded it up this morning for a try.

WOW!!!! :biggrin:

For the first time a str8 shave felt like the most comfortable DE shave, just wiping the lather off... no pulling at all, no scraping, NO discomfort!!! It might even have been more comfortable as I had much more control over blade angle. Just a fantastic out-of-this-world shave!! :thumbup1:

I have two other straights that I have been shaving with for about 2 months. One is a 5/8 Imperial, the other a new T.I. 5/8 Super Gnome. The Imperial came shave ready from a member here, I honed the T.I. myself. Both are about equal in comfort, the T.I. is bit bit smoother. I had a Revisor that I sent to Lynn for honing but it was not as smooth on my face as my other two so I sold it. I have a T.I. P.T.L.E on the way from a member here as well.

I would just shave with the Feather but it really doesn't have any soul or character. I also don't like being beholden to a blade manufacturer. You also loose all the tradition and ritual of using a straight, no honing, no stroping, no history to the blade... :frown:

So the big question is: How can I get my straights to shave like a Feather? What is it that makes the feather so smooth? Is is sharpness? Blade/edge geometry? Blade coatings? Is it even possible to get a regular straight to this level?

My honing equipment consists of a complete set of Spyderco hones, a hand american base, one leather plate for it loaded with CrO, one glass plate for it with nothing on it yet(I was planning on trying some of the 3M micro abrasive papers on it) and a nice hanging strop from Tony. I also have a bunch of Japanese water stones that I have used for years on my woodworking tools but they are all fairly low grit.

Any ideas about what I can do to get my straights to this level? I'm open to all suggestions!!

Thanks,
Joe