What's new

Deodorant Vs Antiperspirant

Scotty's thread about Antiperspirant leads me to ask this question:

Which of the two do you prefer, and please list what brand you use.

Personally, I CAN NOT use Deodorant. Maybe it's my body chemistry, maybe I've only tried the wrong brands, but it's never worked.

Only deodorant. Anti-P causes irritation and stains my clothes.

I use Crabtree & Evelyn's Sandalwood. Understated and conservative :cool:

I recently saw Mama Bear's post about using an alum block as a natural deodorant. I have the same problem with others using anti-perspirant in that it gives me some itchiness, and am wondering if alum is a good alternative. Anyone else tried this?

I've been using an Alum block as deodorant for several years now and it works great for me. A couple of things to keep in mind though:

- you will sweat. After using the alum though, if I go back to an anti-perspirant, I feel claustrophobic and it drives me nuts. I just remember to wear an undershirt and it typically is not a problem.
- make sure you put enough on. If you do a once over and don't get enough salt on to cover things well, there will be problems later in the day.
- keep the alum block in the open so it can air dry. If it stays wet, it will turn rancid and smell bad.
- blocks can be bought cheap . . . I paid $1-$2 for mine a Vitamin Cottage. When this block is gone in the next 10 months or so, I would like to get one of those ShaveEx blocks from Mamma Bear.

Tom's of Maine Woodspice deodorant. Anti-P irritates the hell out of my underarms, so I bailed on using it nearly 20 years ago.

used the crystal/alum stuff in college for a while, and I never really liked how it worked. ToM stuff keeps me mostly non-smelly in all but the hottest weather (assisted by Gold Bond powder on those days).

I've been a fan on ammonium alum deodorants for years. Though I have found that using the block can be drying, instead I use the aloe enriched alum solution version.