What's new

Homemade latigo strop

Investigating the nuances of stropping has been the last stop on my straight journey. I got a Whipped Dog poor man's strop to learn on and pretty much destroyed that. I bought a beautiful Screaming Pig strop, which I have been using for about 2 1/2 months. So I decided I should investigate other leather types now that I am stropping well.

I found some materials on the web to make a latigo strop:

View attachment 142386 View attachment 142385

The stop is 24.5 inches long total, the stropping surface is 20.5 inches, about as long as I can reasonably use, and the strop is about 5 mm thick. It has a modular hanger and I put some pull tabs on the end.

View attachment 142387

My Screaming Pig has a gorgeous sewn leather handle, which I specified, but I find I don't use it as it isn't ergonomic for me, rather I grab the upper seam where it joins the strop itself. So I designed this tab as an end.

View attachment 142388

I like the way it works so much I built it into a couple fabric strops.

View attachment 142389

The whole thing is assembled with Chicago screws, so it can be taken apart and changed or repaired etc.

The leather for this strop is pretty lovely. Thick and stiff and covered with a rich waxy finish. The wax was so heavy I could write in it with my finger. I found it too heavy with too much draw, so I wiped it down with a rag, which helped, but eventually wiped with a rag lightly saturated with citrus chain degreaser, which removed the excess and lightened the draw.