What's new

Is hanging the brush upside down crucial?

Honestly, they dry better standing....water evaporates up so the moisture would creep up into the knot if hanging.......The only company that mentions hanging is Kent, I think they just want to sell stands....

This topic has been debated on B&B for years on many threads. As I've said on those threads, my experience was that two really good Kent brushes rotted within two years of purchase when I stored them standing up. The same was true with all of my father's shaving brushes. My brushes have lasted 10 years and are still going strong now that I store them up side down. I learned my lesson the hard (and expensive) way.

I don't think that hanging a brush is absolutely necessary. I've been wet-shaving for about 45 years. Until this past year, I never hung my brushes, and they seemed to do just fine. Though they were inexpensive bristle brushes, they each lasted many years. The only reason I hang my brushes now is because I built a stand to hold my straight razors upright, and decided to go ahead and incorporate a way to hang a couple of brushes.

Last edited:
Honestly, they dry better standing....water evaporates up so the moisture would creep up into the knot if hanging.......The only company that mentions hanging is Kent, I think they just want to sell stands....

+1

And have you ever noticed that the corporate logo and other writing on a brush displays correctly when the bristles are UP?

If they really wanted you to hang it bristles down, they would design the handles to prevent standing them on end. And include a small stand, adjusting the price upwards accordingly.

I hope brush makers don't start offering only brushes with rounded ends so we can't stand them bristle up...what would you do with the loaded brush between passes?