What's new

Grandpa's Pine Tar Soap

Just wondering if anyone else out there enjoys using Grandpa Brands Pine Tar Wonder Soap? I've been using it for about three years with great satisfaction. The bar works good as both a soap and even shampoo. I've even used it as a shaving soap on occasion. It also comes in a liquid version but I've yet to try it.

I first read about it on a bicycle website, Rivendell Bicycle Works , and ordered my first batch from them. (They also sell Musco Real.) You can also order it directly from the manufacturer. Recently, I discovered it at a health food store and a small organic grocery store.

Last edited:
When I was a boy I used my Dad's pine tar shampoo, for dandruff.

I think I've used what you referenced or at least something similar. This isn't anything like that.

This bar soap really lathers up nice and white. The nice thing about it is that you can use it for both your body soap and shampoo. It rinses clean. I like the aroma while I'm using it but it doesn't leave you smelling like the soap after your shower is finished. It also helps with some skins conditions.

I almost bought a bar of this today based on this review but the scent of this soap is so over the top that I didn't buy it.

I'm sure it has good cleansing/skin care properties but I just couldn't pull the trigger. Maybe someday though. I'll stick with Dr. Bronners..

good review though!

Marty E.

These are good quality soaps...haven't tried this one myself...but my brother uses the grandpa brand sulfur soap...cheap, good quality and lasts a long time....it stinks to high heaven though. This seems like it would be a stinker too...is t?

These are good quality soaps...haven't tried this one myself...but my brother uses the grandpa brand sulfur soap...cheap, good quality and lasts a long time....it stinks to high heaven though. This seems like it would be a stinker too...is t?