What's new

Brewing pu-erh

OK, I have several varieties of raw pu-erh I received from Netsurfr. How about some brewing tips?
I looked around a bit and saw instructions to use water just off the boil (95C) with an approx 30sec infusion. I've never re-used tea, but I understand multiple infusions are done with this type of tea. I have several ceramic teapots of the English type. Any hints for a total newbie to this?

I don't know where you saw the instructions you mention.
Pu-Erh (either loose or Tuo Cha) must be brewed for a long time with nearly boiling to boiling water. You should use 5-6 mins of brewing.
However, you MUST wash the leaves first. Use nearly boiling water for about 30 sec, and then throw that out. It will break up a Tuo Cha chunk and you'll notice particulate matter in the discarded liquid.
If you want to infuse multiple times, use 4-5 mins for the first brewing and longer times after that.
Experiment to see what works for you. Don't go by the depth of the colour of the tea, as it will always be dark....even underbrewed.
Try it in small volumes first. 2.5 g /cup.

MajorBurnz, most people brew Pu-erh gong fu style which requires either a small gaiwan or yixing teapot. You brew ~5g of tea in ~100ml of water for seconds, not minutes. Depends on the tea but rinse it for a few seconds first, then brew 5s, 10s, 20s, and so on for additional steepings. You can usually do this for around 8-10 times. With that tea to water ratio if you brewed for 5-6 mins it would be a horrid bitter mess.

I stand corrected. :blushing:
I hadn't thought of gong fu style brewing, though I didn't know people used it much for Pu Erh. I've been doing it the longer way (western style?) for a long time.
I tried the gong fu process a long time ago (with the wrong teapot, of course) and didn't like that as much, so I promptly forgot about it.

I shouldn't have been as dismissive of the OP's research in my first post. I apologize, tsmba.