What's new

Travel brush advice for a newbie

I am new to the world of wetshaving and I have a question about travel brushes. My wife and I travel frequently and I would like some advice on how to travel with my shave brush. I currently use a Vulfix 2234S brush, which I absolutely love and would hate to lose, so I'm considering buying another brush for use when we travel. Is a turnback brush the way to go, or would I be better off getting a brush and travel tube? Any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

My best advice would be to leave the brush at home, and travel with creams instead of soaps. Most creams can be lathered with the palm of your hand.

My own mobile shave-kit consists of minimal gear. A good face wash and synthetic chamois, a few sample-size creams and ASBs, an adjustable razor, a 5-pack of Astra-SP blades.

When traveling, I lower my standards slightly, and only shoot for a close, comfortable shave to keep me presentable. If I get a DFS out of it, that's great. Besides, it makes that first BBS shave when you get back home to your fully-stocked shave den that much more luxurious.

If you must use a brush, get one that is designed for travel from the get-go. I think a tube-style would be considerably less expensive than a turnback, and most likely provide more secure storage, as well.

In either case, never put your brush away wet. Go through the same routines you would at home to clean it and dry it after each use.

garyg

B&B membership has its percs
I am new to the world of wetshaving and I have a question about travel brushes. My wife and I travel frequently and I would like some advice on how to travel with my shave brush. I currently use a Vulfix 2234S brush, which I absolutely love and would hate to lose, so I'm considering buying another brush for use when we travel. Is a turnback brush the way to go, or would I be better off getting a brush and travel tube? Any advice on this matter would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.