What's new

Self Hair Trimming

Sadly my extreamly cheap Conair's are not cutting it anymore, sorry for the pun. Do any of you clipper your own hair and if you do what clipper make and model do you use? What would you suggest as a good pair of clippers for someone who cuts his hair about once a week?

I use Wahl as well. I don't recall the model # but i have been using the same clipper for well over 5 years and cut my hair once a week, every week. They have never failed me.

DL

Last edited:
Well this is one area where you really shouldn't economise-buy the most expensive clippers you can afford, that way they will last a long time and always give you a good cut...i own a Remington Ceramic which was the most expensive the shop carried; easy to use, smooth ceramic blades which don't need to be oiled (a MAJOR advantage over metal blades)....

think of this purchase as an investment- you will save a lot of cash over the years even if the initial outlay is high

+2 on the Wahl. I have a Senior that's lasted me for a while. My old barber used to cut my hair with one. He shouldn't have told me his secret:tongue_sm

Sadly my extreamly cheap Conair's are not cutting it anymore, sorry for the pun. Do any of you clipper your own hair and if you do what clipper make and model do you use? What would you suggest as a good pair of clippers for someone who cuts his hair about once a week?

I do not cut my hair weekly, my husband would not be too happy. I do cut my sons hair often though and we use a Wahl. You can get a decent set with all of the attachments for about $100.

I ended up with a pair of Oster 76's off the bay. They come with 000blades but I want at least a little length to my hair, I need to make a desision about 1/8th or 3/32nd, what do you think?

I bought an Andis set about a year ago. It is good build quality, but definitely geared for home use rather than professional.