What's new

Merkur 38c/EJ classic/Mühle R89

Hi, I’m a newbie and I'll buy my gear really soon. I have some irritation and ingrown hairs problems since I’ve started shaving (10 years). One day, in search for the solution, I went to a French forum (I'm french canadian :wink: ) where they were talking about a man named mantic59 on youtube and since this time I’ve seen every videos he has posted a couples of times and now it’s clear that I’ll become a wet shaver.

Since a week and a half I’ve read around 100 different reviews (thanks to all of you) of creams, soaps, razors, brush, mugs and now I’ve chosen all that I need to getting started but I don't know qhat to chose for the razor. At first I wanted the Merkur 38c, but recently I’ve read a post where someone was talking about the Mühle R89 and I’ve discovered that the Edwin Jagger classic (de86 to de89) has the same head.

:confused: So here are my questions: Is-it true that the EJ has the same head as the Mühle and if so, how is the balance difference (if there is one) and how they compares to the Merkur 38c? :confused:

There is a difference of more than 20$ between the 38c and the EJ and I’ll buy the Edwin Jagger BBB so it would be great to have the assorted colours. :thumbup:

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
Welcome or should I say bien le bonjour,

Edwin Jagger and Muhle are the same. Muhle will produce the razors and Edwin Jagger will stamp their name on a few of them. The balance should be the same unless they have custom handles... Someone might correct me here if I am mistaken. I won't be able to point out where to start as I did not try the new Muhle/EJ or a 38C. They are both great from what I heard.

If you want to get started for a cheaper price, I would recommend the Buy/Sell/Trade section of this forum to pick-up a vintage Gillette like a Tech or Superspeed.

Last edited: