What's new

Quality and price

I have no experience with fragrance. A friend suggested that I try cologne, and I thought it was a good idea.

I generally appreciate fine products, and am willing to pay for them. However, I have heard rumors of bottles of high-end fragrances selling for over a hundred dollars even though they cost only a few dollars to manufacturer. In other words, I have been led to believe that in this market, it is easy to to pay for more than you get.

Indeed, high-end colognes seem to cost over $100 for a 2.0 oz bottle. On the surface, it isn't evident why they should cost so much, though like I say, I have no experience.

So I am led to wonder the following: is a fragrance that costs $60/oz generally better than one that costs a third of that, or is the higher priced one just another overpriced product designed to take advantage of the unwary consumer?

Generally the better quality fragrances (e.g. Penhaligon's, Trumper, Creed) use real essential oils and use a fairly large quantity of them. They are also relatively small producers and need a high margin to cover their operating costs. Mass market colognes often use synthetics and cost almost nothing to produce - the money goes into focus groups, brand image development, and high retail margins. My personal bias is that the quality products are better value for money and more enjoyable to use.

Great. That was exactly kind of answer I was seeking. Would you be able to provide a list of makers who are at the same level as Penhaligon's, Trumper, Creed, so I will know them when I see them, and be able to distinguish them from the cheap, overpriced brands?

Great. That was exactly kind of answer I was seeking. Would you be able to provide a list of makers who are at the same level as Penhaligon's, Trumper, Creed, so I will know them when I see them, and be able to distinguish them from the cheap, overpriced brands?