What's new

Omega wrist watch help

I want an Omega watch in the worst way and the one I really like is the Seamaster Aqua Terra Chronometer in blue, medium size. What should I expect in durability? Accuracy? This watch is in the right price range for me, but for me it is a fair amount of coin. I live a very active lifestyle and have really not been totally happy with some of the watches that I have had but, they have not been priced over $500 dollars either. You guys in this forum are amazing in your insight and in fact someone just had to go and put watch posts up.....:drool:

Thanks in advance,
Richard

I got a Seamaster Aqua Terra (silver on steel) when I graduated from college in 2004. It is durable especially the glass. The band will show scratches, but that is to be expected. They have to be tuned every 4 - 5 years, but it will last a lifetime if you maintain it.

I got a Seamaster Aqua Terra (silver on steel) when I graduated from college in 2004. It is durable especially the glass. The band will show scratches, but that is to be expected. They have to be tuned every 4 - 5 years, but it will last a lifetime if you maintain it.

How do you get it tuned and what is the cost?

R

No experience with the Seamaster. I have a 1984 Speedmaster, it was serviced at the LaGrange, IL facility in 1999 and the cost was $325 including a new crown and crystal. The Speedmaster uses a heavy plastic crystal so it tends to scratch quite easily. Mine also has a number of scuffs and light scratches on the case and strap from long use. Unless you really abuse these watches they should hold up well over time.

Omega is a high quality watch, especially the automatics. You pay a lot but you also get a lot. By the way, the scratches on the crystal can be buffed at a jewelery story, most of the time, for nothing or very little.