What's new

New to Wet Shaving: Sensor vs. Trac II vs. Atra

Just thought I would introduce myself.

I am new to wet shaving as of this week.

I have tried a little bit of everything, in terms of cartridge razors:

I think I used a cheap disposable for quite some time. Then I had transferred over to the Gillette Fusion in both Manual, and Power modes. I purchased one 4 pack of blade refills, and then said enough is enough. They are too expensive for my budget.

I then used a 3 blade powered razor I found at Family Dollar. It is probably manufactured by ASR/ Personna. For the price, it did a really nice job.

I really started to wonder if all of the extra blades were necessary, so after much searching I found a Sensor Excel handle locally. I was amazed to find that the shave quality was as good, if not better than the Fusion!!

I then found a Mach 3 Turbo Champion for $2.50 at an Mennonite Discount Store. It shaved really well, but no better than the Sensor Excel.

I think I then got a case of AD, and started wondering if the other two bladed razors were any better. That brought me to Badger, and Blade.

I still have a few Sensor carts, but also just bought a Bump Fighter handle, with a 10 pack of Gillette Trac II Plus. I have a Gillette Vector being shipped from Singapore, which should be here next week. (with 15 carts..lol).

My present wet shave setup consists of a VDH set, with the deluxe soap, boar bush, and a green/ black bowl. I am still obviously learning proper lather technique, but I can see how wet shaving can be a ton of fun.

I am not ready to go full out Double Edge, so I will likely buy a fancy all metal handle once I decide between the Sensor/ Atra/ Trac II.

Welcome to B&B. Like the previous two posters said, it is inevitable. Eventually, you'll be assimilated into the ranks of a DE shaver and wonder how you did it for years without your old Gillette, or your shiny Merkur or Muhle. Either way, we're glad to have you!