What's new

Razor for moustache/goatee? - Futur issues.

And don't just tell me to shave it off :smile:

I'm new to B&B but not DE shaving. I used a Vision, mostly with Feathers for the last 2 years until it was stolen and just replaced it with the Futur,. So far so good,. My problem with the Futur is that I now have a "detailed" goatee and moustache - The Vision wasn't great for this due to the large head. I knew the Futur would be a challenge as well but I wasn't prepared for the overhang on the ends due to the way the blade holder attaches. This is actually worse than the Vision which did not have this overhang. I'm using a Schick disposable which has a very small head to do a bit of cleanup inside the Goatee area and just under the nose above the moustache. I'd like to be a DE purist and I'm wondering what the best DE is for this kind of detail or if anyone has another suggestion re single blade. I'm not crazy about the idea of the Merkur moustache razor.

Thanks!

Chris

I own, and used, the Merkur mustache razor when I sported a beard and found it to be perfectly suited for its intended purpose even with the mediocre Merkur blades.

If you are dead-set against the Merkur, however, a Gillette Tech may work as it has a relatively thin profile and should be easier to maneuver in tight places.

I sport a mustache and goatee, although they are not joined so I may not be calling it what it is supposed to called ... that has always confused me, While I don't have the issues that you do using my DE, I sometimes use a BIC disposable for fine work around the edges. Either a BIC Metal or Sensitive have really slim heads. Maybe pick up a pack of those. If you limit the use to just the fine work, they may last you quite a while, and the blades are very good IMHO.

+1 on the Tech.