What's new

Red bumps a day or two after a shave

I've been using a DE for a couple years now ... and have almost always had this problem. about a day or two after I shave I get red bumps on my chin and above my lip ... they often turn into some sort of zip like things. It's very annoying and embarrasing. It totally prevents me from shaving more than once every three or four days. I recently shaved off a beard I had been wearing for seven months ... and was hoping this would've gone away ... it hasn't. I can minimalize the effects if I only go with the grain ... and if I use tea tree oil a few times a day on the problem areas.

I've tried different blades, different creams, different soaps. I've gone to my doctor who prescribed tretracycline (or something like that) ... none of this has had any impact. I am just purchased an Ingrown hair and a razor bump cream from Anthony's ... but after the first use there is little difference. I make it a point to hold the razor by the bottom so that I don't put any extra pressure on my face when I'm shaving ... I try just to let the weight of the blade do it for me.

Honestly I just hate this ... I love shaving ... but can't do it on a regular basis ... and have to go around with two or three days of growth on my face most of the time.

This was the reason I started wet shaving in the first place ... and it started off better ... I was able to go against the grain and get a BBS ... but now I can't even do two passes with the grain without getting these bumps.

Anyone have any ideas? I'm out of things to try.

Todd