What's new

some random thoughts about wet-shaving

I am a newbie to the wet-shave scene; having purchased my first DE, a Merkur HD in an Art of Shaving store in NYC when visiting a friend. I purchased it because I wanted a better shave line for my goatee, and the Mach 3s, fusions, etc. never could do it to my satisfaction. But what I did not know at all, was the type of shave I could get for the rest of my face by using a good shaver, coupled with a well matched blade and proper preparation. I discovered this site via the aforementioned article that was in Stereophile magazine a number of months ago. Joining this group has really provided me with an education about wet-shaving that I simply never knew. What strikes me though, is that wet-shaving like being an audiophile, it too is a great hobby that can be lots of fun. Just like the audiophile world, there are as many points of view as there are folks participating in the discussion; whether it be about blades, shavers, whatever - I find the differing points of view invaluable to me. I have purchased mostly through eBay, some vintage Gillette shavers, and rotate them, change up blades and actually look forward to my morning shave as a result - how crazy is that? I also am introducing my 18 and 20 year old sons to wet-shaving and expect that they will be taking their "shave kits" back to their respective dorm rooms this September, and who knows how many guys they might convert?