What's new

Newbie needs brush recommendation please

Hello, I am relatively new to this hobby. Per the good reviews on this forum, I have started out with a C & E Best Badger Cream brush. I am ready to move onto my next brush. I'd like to purchase something $100 or less. I use Tom's of Maine or Body Shop Maca Root cream over a cake of VDH soap. The C & E brush whips up a good lather, but I find that it is more of an applicator. In other words it's not stiff enough when loaded, and I am unable to do any face lathering like I see on the Mantic videos. I think that I'd be happy with something the same size or slightly larger with more of a backbone. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

The Rooney 3/1 is a great choice. Vintage Blades has a new version of it in different colors as well. My new "Coral" super silvertip will arrive on Tuesday. I already have the standard 3/1 in super. Believe me you will love it.

Len

I have to agree with this recommendation. I have the 1/1 and its a fabulous face latherer, the handle is quite stubby and I enjoy that. The 3/1 has a similar knot, and is supposed to fabulous with a handle which may have wider appeal.

Read this, this, and/or this. It's an amazing brush, it's in your price range, and you can pick whatever handle shape and color you like. I highly recommend a Short-loft Custom Shavemac in Finest.

-Andy

It sounds like the Rooney 3/1 in super is the brush for you. Jim at Vintage Blades mentioned that the newest batch of 3/1s were coming in with a slightly shorter loft than usual which would make them really nice for face lathering in my opinion. Check his post in the shopping forum.