What's new

Newbie needs brush recommendation please

Hello, I am relatively new to this hobby. Per the good reviews on this forum, I have started out with a C & E Best Badger Cream brush. I am ready to move onto my next brush. I'd like to purchase something $100 or less. I use Tom's of Maine or Body Shop Maca Root cream over a cake of VDH soap. The C & E brush whips up a good lather, but I find that it is more of an applicator. In other words it's not stiff enough when loaded, and I am unable to do any face lathering like I see on the Mantic videos. I think that I'd be happy with something the same size or slightly larger with more of a backbone. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

Hi, I find that Vulfix make great brushes. The London series are very cheap when you see the amount of quality put in them.

Hello, I am relatively new to this hobby. Per the good reviews on this forum, I have started out with a C & E Best Badger Cream brush. I am ready to move onto my next brush. I'd like to purchase something $100 or less. I use Tom's of Maine or Body Shop Maca Root cream over a cake of VDH soap. The C & E brush whips up a good lather, but I find that it is more of an applicator. In other words it's not stiff enough when loaded, and I am unable to do any face lathering like I see on the Mantic videos. I think that I'd be happy with something the same size or slightly larger with more of a backbone. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

If you are looking for backbone as you call it or bristle stiffness try this .

1. Take a pair of sharp scissors and trim about 1/4-1/2" off your present brush bristle length . Shorter bristles are stiffer and longer tends to be floppy . Then give the sides an angled or taper cut like most brushes have .

2. Finally take 220 grit wet/dry paper and runs several figure 8's with it . This breaks the hair down and softens up the tips . Also accelerates the break in process of a new brush . Meaning it softens the tips again .