What's new

Slant blade

I am new to wet shaving, I have never heard of it until a few days ago on another forum. I have been looking into this a great amount for the last few days and will hopefully order within the next couple weeks.

After looking at dozens of razor reviews and going to multiple online stores I was curious why it would not be recommended for a beginner to not get a slant razor? It seems as there is a lot of people agreeing that the slant gets a closer shave than a DE, what does everyone think about that?

Thanks in advance! I am really excited that I found out about wet shaving! This seems much smoother and more eloquent than the Gellette fusion that I have...

I think the slant requires a more careful technique than a regular DE razor and beginners would most likely end up either giving up or cutting themselves up were they to begin with a slant instead of something a little more tame. Having said that I've yet to try a slant myself...more experienced folk will chime in momentarily.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I think the slant requires a more careful technique than a regular DE razor and beginners would most likely end up either giving up or cutting themselves up were they to begin with a slant instead of something a little more tame. Having said that I've yet to try a slant myself...more experienced folk will chime in momentarily.

+1

You do need to be a bit more careful with a Slant. It's a great razor but to start with and learn all the good habits, a Tech or superspeed is more appropriate. If you want to stay with Merkur, HD is your best bet.