What's new

A couple of noob tips that really helped me

As a newbie, I had a lot of hang-ups and worries about getting into wet shaving, but I found a cheap, simple, and easy way to learn the benefits before deciding to invest the money in a decent razor and other products, so I decided to share them:

1) A single-bladed disposable is a great trainer: A DE razor can be a hassle to find, and expensive. Also, it may seem a bit scary and intimidating, leaving you reluctant to make the move to a DE. For those who have worries or hesitations, buy a pack of single blade disposables; they’re cheap and easy to get, so there’s no real risk or investment. After getting used to brushes and soap, I switched from a cartridge razor to a single blade disposable. It is an amazing teacher. First, it shows you the benefits of shaving with a single blade; a huge reduction in ingrown hairs and bumps, and no hair clogging up between the blades. Second, the learning curve is just right (in my opinion); you’ll learn fast that hacking away like you’re peeling a potato won’t work, but it’s forgiving enough that if you do fall back to your old cartridge shaving habits (and you will at first), you won’t cut your face up too badly, and you’ll still be able to reap the benefits that come from light pressure, a slow, steady hand, and a good angle. You’ll soon find yourself getting a smoother shave with less effort (and pain) than a cartridge.