What's new

Newbie saying hello and some questions..

Just wanted to say hello to everyone and introduce myself. My name is Billy and I am new to the vintage shaving idea. I have bought myself a few things but would like some advice on good starter kits. I would like to try both a safety razor as well as a straight edge blade. Any advice on brushes and strops would also be appreciated. Thanks in advance, :smile:

Welcome!

My 2 cents: for a DE, get a Gillette SuperSpeed or a Merkur HD or 23C. You can find a good deal on the Buy/Sell/Trade forums if you're patient. If you want a new razor, there's some good online vendors out there - check the shopping forum for discounts or sales. West Coast Shaving has a great blade sample pack for cheap, there's also some good ones up for sale on the B/S/T forum.

I don't use straight razors, so someone else will have to give you advice on those. :tongue_sm

Welcome aboard. I would expect that the straight razor folks will be along at some point. However, if you don't get a response, you might want to post in the straight razor forum. You'll find a definite split for a first razor on here between Merkur and Gillette razors. If you go Merkur, the 34C is a great starter razor. If you go Gillette, any number of Superspeeds out there that are probably available on the B/S/T forum. You don't need to go hog wild on a first brush. If you've got a Crabtree and Evelyn near you, they make a good Best Badger brush for about $35. After that, it's a matter of figuring out whether you are a cream or soap kinda guy and what you want for aftershave. Good luck. Enjoy the journey.