What's new

Feathers - Maybe too darned sharp!?!?

I've been using an HD for the last 5 months and I had pretty much settled on 7 O'Clock Yellows and Astras as my blades of choice. I get excellent shaves and haven't had burn or irritation for a long time as my technique has improved.

I miscalculated and ran out of both of my go-to blades so my stock choices were some of the Dorco's left from my blade sampler or the Feathers.

I used a Feather before - but I think I was too careful/paranoid when I did so I didn't get as good a shave as I could have.

Anyway I chose the Feather and the shave was nice...very nice. But I was off by a milimeter and almost took the right side of my mustache off!!! My mustache looked like I used the lowest setting on my clippers!.

Maybe a little too sharp? I'm going to finish up two more shaves with this blade but jeez - that's sharp!!!! :w00t:

~Paul

I've never tried Feathers, but I'm always interested in reading people's responses to them...

It's great your recent shave with them was so nice--It means your technique must be improving a lot! :biggrin:

Feathers never worked for me, they just seemed to irritate my face too much. Tho I suspect I will give them another go at some point.

Astra Plats and Gillette Yellows are both excellent alternatives.

Stockpiling blades is one way to guarantee you will never run out. :tongue_sm

Feathers aren't for everyone. It depends what razor you're using them in. I get great results in them with my fat handled tech but they were too aggressive in my 39c slant. YMMV.

I just had my first feather shave today in my 34c, and it was amazing. I was careful, but not fearful. Had the best shave of my life with less irritation than my red pack personna shave yesterday that wasn't as smooth. I think I may have found my blade