What's new

honing question, please help

Hello,

I am new to straight razor shaving. I have a DOVO 5/8 silver steel which I got new a few weeks ago. I have been attempting to hone it myself using a Norton 4k/8k, and stropping using a dovo leather/linen strop. From the start I have been able to shave with the razor without cuts etc, but not really my entire face. In the beginning the razor would pull quite a bit and would just completely stick in my chin hair. Then I began a series of 4 honing attempts. The first attempt I just did five full passes on the 8k side and I got no result. The second I did two passes 4K, 5 passes 8K and also had no result. The third I did 7(I think) passes on the 4K, 5 more passes on the 8K and by the time I was done shaving I had the worst shave yet I think. Today I tried the pyramid and did passes 4k/8k in this order: 3/3, 1/3, 1/5. My shave today was better (and my technique is surely improving) but the razor still pulls, especially when I tried a second pass accross the grain and it doesn't cut that well even on the first pass. I shaved my entire face but it's not smooth or at all even. I do think the razor is sharper but I want to sharpen it more and I don't know what to do next. Could one of the experts here please help me out with some advice on how to continue on my own?

I am new at this and I have a million other questions but I figured I would just start with this post. I have been reading the forums here and they have been of great interest to me. Thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

-------Michael