What's new

Newbie here, with a question

Let me first say this forum has been extremely helpful so far, especially with making a proper lather.

Anyways, I have been wet shaving for about 3 weeks now. It took a little while to get lathering down, same with technique, but both have been coming together very well. I still have one thing standing between me and a great shave though, so let me tell you my ritual:

Warm shower, being sure to keep warm water on my face. Meanwhile, the brush (a Vulfix best badger) soaks in a bowl (from my cupboard) of hot water. When I get out of the shower, I do not dry my face. I empty my bowl and let the brush drip, then rub some more warm water on my face before I make my lather, and again before I apply my lather (I use Proraso or Col. Conk's almond) I shave (with a Vintage DE safety razor with Merkur blades) N-S, S-N, then ATG on my neck and cheeks, and XTG on my chin. I finish with a warm water rinse, followed by cold water, then apply either some Nivea or Aqua Velva (I am considering getting some Proraso Pre/Post cream after hearing so many good things about it).

My beard is thick, especially on my chin, and I cannot go ATG without some trouble, though I would like to. My question is this: is there a way I can go ATG through my thick stubble and avoid irritation and razor burn?

Maybe a different soap or cream, or razor and blade? How about a different pre-shave to help soften the beard even more? I'm still getting into this, so changing up a routine is not only easy, but I think having a flexible routine is a good thing.

Luc

"To Wiki or Not To Wiki, That's The Question".
Staff member
I would recommend another razor blade. Merkur are ok but no more. Feather should do the trick. Did you try a sample pack? A few blades would help you find which work best for you!