Thread: Thomas Turner Sheffield 'Frameback' for Trade

Default Thomas Turner Sheffield 'Frameback' for Trade

Now I've been collecting razors for a few months, and having developed my tastes, I have decided that I'm not in love with the frameback style.
    I have a razor which is a pseudo frameback, ie the tang and blade are one piece but it has a separate spine. I've decided that although it's a nice razor, it's not in keeping with the direction in which my collection is growing.

The tang is stamped 'Thomas Turner Sheffield', and I think it's pretty old, someone on this forum placed it at around 1860.
    The blade is in remarkably good shape.
    Considering the age of this razor it is in much better condition than you might expect. I have rated it 'good' after reading the guidelines, but that's probably a little unfair given its age.

When I got it, there was a lot of black staining on the blade, but strangely there is no pitting. I guess the stains must have been caused by a chemical (maybe soap?) because there is no evidence of rusting. I have sanded off most of the staining, but there is still a large area on one side of the tang. It came off very easily. Originally the whole blade was stained in this way.

The spine of the razor is brass. It appears to be a hollow tube of brass that has been filled with solder. If you look near the tip of the spine, you can see where hone wear has made it through the brass and exposed the solder underneath. The hone wear is not severe and is even. Brass being softer than steel, I think the hone wear is not proportionate to the wear that the blade itself has received, which seems to be minimal. I'd advise the new owner to tape the spine to avoid wearing the soft brass any further.