What's new

Need help on planning my hone setup.

Hello,

I'm a complete newbie to straight shaving. I've already read the interactive guide and a ton of posts on hones and I still need some help.

If I'm only going to own pre-honed razors and new razors (bought straight from the shop) would the following setup be enough?
I'm not interested in restoring old razors (I would leave that to the pro's) I just don't want to depend on anyone for maintenance.

-DMT 8K
-Chinese 12K

My doubts are:
1) Do any of these two stones need to be lapped, and if so, what additional stones or materials do I need?

2) Would I also need a paddled strop (or a leather strop)?

3) How could I complete this setup so I would never need to send the razor to get it honed. I'm from Spain and I don't know of any local respectable Honemeisters in my country, so I would like to avoid the costs (and time) of sending the razor to a foreign country to get it honed, and avoid depending on other people (which for me is one of the great pro's about straight shaving)

PS:I tend to pay a lot of attention to Joel's posts, but I got a bit confused about the Chinese 12K. In one post he said it's a good choice and in another he said that he would never buy it again, (is the Chinese 12K decieving?)

Thank you very much!

Last edited:
I'm new to honing myself, so you can take my advice with a grain of salt.

I think DMT's don't need to be honed. (Someone jump in and correct me if I am wrong. I don't have one of those yet.)

The Chinese 12k can be lapped with sand paper (320 grit or so) on a hard flat surface such as a granite tile or the sort. I just got one of these in the mail myself, but I have not lapped it yet.

Provided you don't drop your razor and chip it or something, you should be okay with that hone set-up (according to what I've learned from reading/asking questions).